writeonthebay

Happy Anniversary!

In In Other Words, Writing on June 13, 2008 at 9:27 am

To recognize the one-month anniversary of writeonthebay, I present Five Things I’ve Learned About Blogging

1. The blogosphere is ridiculously insular.

This was one of my initial concerns about blogging. I remember reading an article (probably in the Atlantic) about a party the author attended where most of the attendees were bloggers, all talking about blogs and eventually leaving the party prematurely to go home and blog about it. Ick. What about real interaction, people? I appreciate blogrolls that send me to cool places, but virtual society just ain’t no substitute for a phone call or plain old together time. To me, a good blog will appeal to any readers, not just those who Twitter one another all the live long day.

2. There’s a lot of damn good writing out there.

It is simultaneously satisfying and intimidating to read the work of strong writers who can take the minutiae of their personal lives and craft them into insightful and universal posts. I hold up finslippy, breedemandweep, and flotsam as shining beacons in the murky waters of the blogosphere.

3. There’s a lot of crappy writing out there.

You know who you are. Or maybe you don’t, and that’s the problem. You are all over my tag surfer. And mostly, you tell me why you haven’t been writing. Quit your whining. We’re all busy.

4. The stats page has an unhealthy hold on my psyche.

My real world friends are not bloggers. So besides a couple of busy days when I first told my peeps that I started a blog, I’ve had only a handful of hits per day, if that many. With every new day and every new post, I think, how could I get more hits? Write about the latest celebrity tragedy? Be shamelessly controversial? Use the word “blog” in the tag list? There are good reasons for me to be concerned with these questions, like the fact that my freelance work may soon include blogging on particular subjects. But the visceral need to check my hits several times a day? That’s just the part of me that needs the validation of others…”You’re fascinating…a brilliant writer! When can we expect the next precious missive?” Dare to dream of multiple comments on every post!

5. My camera stinks.

I love, love, love fine food photography. Smittenkitchen does a lovely job with well composed (and focused! why won’t my #$%^&ing camera just focus for pete’s sake!?). Try as I might, I can’t get my point and shoot digitial to focus on anything remotely closeup. This is probably just as well though, as the closeups I’d like to take are of food, and I am horrible at presentation and plating.

I suppose all this might sound like I’m complaining, but I have faith that this little blog of mine has more to teach me. So for now I’ll stay tuned.

 

 

  1. I sat here and read all of your blogs (at least I think I found them all.) I really liked reading about your work on the farm! These experiences will have a lifelong effect on your children, even though they are very young. I also learned a lot about triathlons. I admire your determination. Keep on doing all the good things you write about.

Leave a Reply

