writeonthebay

99 Bales of Straw on the Wall

In Family, Food, In My Kitchen on July 9, 2008 at 5:19 pm

99 bales of straw! Take one down, pass it around, 98 bales of straw on the wall!

Yes, it was another day on the farm yesterday. And since I helped stack 99 bales of straw, Sara says I am officially a farm girl. Aw, shucks…

The kids and I were at the farm for a good 5 hours. Mostly I watched my kids and Sara’s while she ran CSA deliveries, then we had dinner. Loads of fresh veggies from the farm, burgers from her parents’ cattle operation, and chicken leg quarters from Polyface. And when I say fresh veggies, I mean minutes from vine to table. Can perfection be grilled zucchini?

It was the kind of day I hope my kids will look back on fondly — catching tadpoles in the ponds next to the greenhouses, feeding a bottle to a calf, gathering eggs, petting chickens, climbing on a stack of straw bales and proclaiming it a pirate ship.

By the time we got home, they were exhausted, and so was I. We were hot and sweaty (and probably smelled) and I at least was on sensory overload. Or maybe it was just the shock I got from the chicken fence.

Leave a Reply

