writeonthebay

Silver and gold

In Food, In My Kitchen on June 1, 2010 at 8:55 am

A long long time ago in a land far away, I was a badge-hoarding cookie-peddling girl scout in the inimitable Sarah Schoeffler’s troop. In addition to fighting over snacks and which color acrylic tumbler we’d get for our Hawaiian Punch, we girls did some pretty cool stuff. The Schoeffler clan can throw down when it comes to outdoor activities, so we camped and canoed and sailed our little hearts out.

This funky fountain is in Sarah Schoeffler's amazing garden now. It wasn't there when we were running around in our little green and brown uniforms, but I like it.

We also sang some pretty gooby songs. Like this one: Make new friends but keep the old, one is silver and the other is gold.

I always had this image of little gold and silver coins tucked away in a pocket when we sang that one. And sometimes I’d wonder why I’d bother with the silver when I had the gold. Gold is better, right?

Somewhere along the line I must have imposed that image of the coins onto the friend part. Why would I bother making new friends when I’ve got the old? Well, now I know why. The whole silver and gold analogy only takes you so far. The new friends become old friends I wouldn’t trade for anything.

The friends I mentioned in my last post started out as acquaintances (aluminum? bronze?) from a playgroup when our oldest kids were toddlers. I didn’t really make an effort to befriend them at the time, and I don’t really know why — I’m a snot? Lazy? Shy? Eventually, our paths came together with more common interests like triathlon training and preschool and food and soccer and such. Over the last year, I’ve grown closer to these three women and had one of the best years of my life despite various challenges thrown at me.

Today I kick myself for not getting to know these women better sooner, especially since two of them are moving out of state (not pouting here, not gonna do it). My loss. So I’ve been trying to keep myself more open to new friendships. The woman whose Facebook status updates always make me laugh, the quiet mom at my son’s preschool who had a baby a month before I did — I’m going to ask them to join me for a cup of coffee. There might be silver there. And maybe gold.

When my daughter was in preschool, she learned a second verse to the old girl scout song: A circle is round, it has no end. That’s how long I want to be your friend.

So true.

  1. Bridget, this is SO good…really enjoy your writing.

    • Thanks Cheryl — it’s like the creative mind you talked about in the prenatal yoga class. It’s still here. 🙂

  2. Bridget! Just yesterday pandora radio threw up a Lisa Loeb song that ended with the refrain of “make new friends but keep the old”…I about cried, likely cause I’m in the throws of hormonal waves in my 8th month of pregnancy OR because it brought back so many memories of good, old friends. You are certainly one of them. Thanks for the memories and insights your writing just inspired. Sorry I don’t return calls as quickly as I should.

Leave a Reply

