writeonthebay

reading for the season

In On My Mind on December 19, 2010 at 9:02 pm

We took out the Christmas decorations last weekend, bought the tree from our local fire house, trimmed it, and sorted through too many stockings and non-functioning strings of lights. Underneath the red and green tea towels was a stack of storybooks.

One of my favorite Christmas traditions as a child was reading Christmas stories with my mom, and it’s been nice to steal some quiet moments with Madeleine and Dax. We’ve read It’s Christmas, David, Moostletoe, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, The Cajun Night Before Christmas, and my favorite, Mr. Willowby’s Christmas Tree.

I like to pick up new books every year. Any one have suggestions for the collection?

  1. My favorite book, right next to the Giving Tree, is “You are my I Love You” by Maryann Cusimano Love. She later put out a Christmas version, “You are my Miracle”. This is special to Joey and I since a night has not passed without those words rolling off my lips that he is my miracle.

Leave a Reply

