writeonthebay

one more

In Family, On My Mind on January 31, 2011 at 8:49 am

Sleep has not been the greatest lately in these here parts. We’ve got a 5yo who’s afraid to sleep by himself since the 8yo terrorized him with tales of a drain-dwelling, child-eating troll who comes into houses at night, and a 10mo who has hit the developmental stage where he bawls and screams when he notices his mommy is not in his crib.

I stumble bleary-eyed through the days.

It is also nearly impossible to keep a clean and tidy house, with the toddler-in-an-infant’s body dead set on emptying an sort of container — toy box, the bench with our shoes, the kitchen cabinets, the laundry basket. Toys and shoes and pots and pans and socks and underwear are strewn about like so much flotsam and jetsam.

I may lose my mind.

Many of our friends have two kids and want no more, and thought we were completely insane to put ourselves through the nursing-diapering-baby-proofing wringer again. There are days when I long for the flexibility I had with two kids who were pretty self-sufficient. And eventually we will have the expense of an entire decade with at least one child in college.

But.

I am utterly in love with this bouncing (literally, bouncing for the pure joy of it) baby boy who prefers the contents of the dishwasher to his own toys. I may not be able to flit about on my own schedule, but I get to blow raspberries on the world’s cutest belly, and watch the gleeful face as he watches his own hand waving “hi”. I get to snuggle him and kiss him when he falls down and goes boom. I get to watch him laugh hysterically as his brother tickles him.

Just one more.

So worth it.

  1. Oh, friend, you’re gonna make it. And you’re right. It IS so worth is. They’re beautiful, wonderful, awesome, inspiring creatures, like their momma. And sleep will come again, just like it did with the other 2. And the house will get cleaned one day. And it anyone says anything about it to you in the meantime, call me. I’ll take care of them for you. You’ve got more important things to do, like blow raspberries on that perfect belly, and snuggle with your entire family of 5 in bed, all in matching pajamas on a cold snowy morning. Remember that. Much love.

  2. Just curious: Was he brushing his teeth or cleaning the toilet?

Leave a Reply

