writeonthebay

winner winner chicken dinner

In In My Kitchen on February 16, 2011 at 10:05 pm

I can rock a roast chicken. This is not anything in particular to brag about, but it’s good to have a solid dish that is a crowd pleaser as well as a jumping point for other dishes. And, it’s useful to know what to do with what’s on sale at your local market. Chicken drumsticks and bone-in breasts, $0.99/lb this week. Woo hoo! Feels like I’m stealing the chicken right out of the meat case.

Roast chicken tonight. Pasta salad tomorrow? Maybe soup? We’ll see.

If you haven’t discovered the fabulousness that is brining, you really should give it a whirl. What’s a brine? Well, it’s water and salt, for starters, and then just about anything you’d want to boost a little flavor into your meat. A brine adds flavor and keeps meat moist. You don’t need a lot of time to benefit either. Twenty minutes can help a chicken breast stay succulent. Overnight will make your Thanksgiving turkey outrageous.

Chicken gets very happy in a brine. This one is just water, kosher salt, and minced garlic. I’ll throw in herbs or brown sugar if the mood suits me.

Wedges of onion and lemon at the bottom of the pan provide flavor and also help keep the chicken from sticking. I pat the chicken dry with paper towels so the skin can crisp up. A little bit of olive oil, salt, black pepper, and paprika, and it’s ready to pop into a 500 degree oven. (It helps if your oven door hinge is properly tightened, which mine is not at the moment…sigh…)

After 20 minutes on high heat, I turn the temp down to 350. After another 20 minutes, the chicken has reached a safe 165 degree internal temp, but my orzo and green beans weren’t ready, so I let it stay put until I just had a few minutes later.

Then low broil for about 4 minutes. Yum. Crisp delicious skin. (If my trainer is reading this, I didn’t actually eat the skin myself, of course.)

My plate:

The baby’s plate (note, no purees for 11-month-olds!):

 

*Note: Tonight’s entry is dedicated to Jen, who, as always, hit the nail on the head.

  1. […] flour and ends with A QUART of heavy whipping cream. So the other day when I had the leftovers of this roast chicken, I decided to try a lightened version of my favorite. It made for a great late winter lunch, and […]

Leave a Reply

